Wouter DE JONGE

Wouter DE JONGE

Wouter DE JONGE

Chair of Experimental Neurogastroenterology, Department of Gastroenterology - Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam - Netherlands

Wouter de Jonge is trained at University of Utrecht, Columbia University, and Oxford University, and received his Phd in 2001 (Medicine, University of Amsterdam). He chairs the gastro-intestinal research group (www.gut-research.com) since 2013. He is interested in gastrointestinal physiology, nutrition, and the function of neural networks within the gastrointestinal tract, in particular in relation to the mechanisms involved in functional bowel disorders (IBS), and chronic inflammation of the GI tract (IBD, EoE). His research has translational nature and involves basic as well as clinical studies. He focuses on the role of the neural system in influencing the immune response; of relevance in for instance stress related diseases such as IBS and IBD.
His group is funded via national Science Foundation grants (NWO-Vidi-STW), EU FP7, 2 Marie Curie EID, Horizon2020 grants, Health-Holland, and multiple industrial grants. He is currently coordinating a Marie Curie training network (EpiMac; www.epimac.eu) aimed at epigenetic marks in inflammatory disease. He is working with multiple industry partners including Galvani Bioelectronics and currently leading a large-scale project on the development of Bioelectronic medicine for IBD, Mead Johnsson Nutrition on nutritional benefit for intestinal disease, and GlaxoSmithKline to design epigenetic medicine paradigms for IBD.
He served on the board of the scientific committees a.o. national trust for Gastro Intestinal and Lever Diseases, Microbiome council at the AGA, and is founder of the spin off company Gut-research Services (http://gut-research-services.com) aimed to facilitate industry collaborations in the field of gastro intestinal diseases.
He is currently chair of NeuroGastroenterology at the AMC in Amsterdam, and also affiliated as a professor to the University of Bonn, Germany.

Wouter DE JONGE

Wouter DE JONGE

Wouter DE JONGE

Professeur en Neurogastroentérologie Expérimentale, Département de Gastroentérologie - Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam - Pays-Bas

Wouter de Jonge a été formé à l’Université d’Utrecht, à l’Université de Columbia et à l’Université d’Oxford, et a obtenu son doctorat en médecine en 2001 (Université d’Amsterdam). Il préside le groupe de recherche gastro-intestinale (www.gut-research.com) depuis 2013. Il s’intéresse à la physiologie gastro-intestinale, à la nutrition et à la fonction des réseaux de neurones au sein du tractus gastro-intestinal, en particulier en relation avec les mécanismes impliqués dans les troubles fonctionnels intestinaux (TFI) et l’inflammation chronique du tractus gastro-intestinal. Ses recherches translationnelles impliquent des études fondamentales ainsi que des études cliniques. Il se concentre sur le rôle du système neuronal dans la réponse immunitaire, impliqué par exemple dans le cas de maladies liées au stress telles que les TFI et les maladies inflammatoires chroniques de l’intestin (MICI).
Son groupe est financé par des subventions nationales de la « Science Foundation » (NWO-Vidi-STW), du FP7 de l’UE, 2 subventions Marie Curie EID, des subventions Horizon2020, « Health-Holland » et plusieurs subventions industrielles. Il coordonne actuellement un réseau de formation Marie Curie (EpiMac; www.epimac.eu) autour des modifications épigénétiques dans les maladies inflammatoires. Il travaille avec plusieurs partenaires industriels : Galvani Bioelectronics, pour lequel il dirige actuellement un projet à grande échelle sur le développement de la médecine bioélectronique dans le cadre des MICI, Mead Johnsson Nutrition sur les bénéfices nutritionnels dans les maladies intestinales, et GlaxoSmithKline pour faire émerger de nouveaux paradigmes médicaux dans les MICI, grâce à l’épigénétique.
Il a siégé au conseil de comités scientifiques comme le conseil national pour les Maladies Gastro-Intestinales et du Foie, le conseil sur le Microbiome à l’ « American Gastroenterology Association », et est fondateur de la spin off « Gut-research Services » (http://gut-research-services.com) visant à faciliter les collaborations avec l’industrie, dans le domaine des maladies gastro-intestinales.
Il est actuellement président de la neuro-gastroentérologie à l’ « Academic Medical Center » (AMC) d’Amsterdam et est également professeur associé à l’Université de Bonn, en Allemagne.